Posting Comment Rant

5 Oct

Okay so this original post isn’t going to be about a social media article I read this week. This post is about me off loading some steam about posting blog comments. And I am not complaining about the fact that we have to comment on peoples blogs, I don’t mind that because it gets me reading different peoples views, however it is about the actual submitting of a comment itself.

I don’t know if I am the only one that seems to have problems posting comments, but every time I go to post a blog comment something new pops up pretty much saying I can’t do it.

Some blogs don’t have a places to post comments at all, and that is a problem in and of itself. I realize people can take off the feature of allowing comments, but isn’t blogging all about being interactive.

The blogs that do allow comments to be posted always seem to have some restriction when I actually go to post the comment. Half the time it says I need to log in or create an account. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to have a wordpress, tumblr, weebly (and the list goes on) account. Just let me post the comment. Second, some sites allow you to post by logging on to your Facebook, google account, twitter, and other random places. However, half the time mine won’t log on, or even if it does work it won’t actually post the comment. Plus why do they want me logged on to see what comments I am making? I don’t want my comment to pop up on my Facebook account.

This is just something that bothers me to know end, because you would think this blog sites would just allow people to comment freely, and not restrict them, considering that is what blogging is all about.

I’m done ranting.

6 Responses to “Posting Comment Rant”

  1. Melissa D. Dodd October 7, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    I appreciate your rant, Colleen. I think there are so many privacy considerations here that we could discuss as well. Why do you think many of these free blogging sites require such drastic measures to post comments? Do you think it has to do with increasing their ad revenue through demonstrating registered users? Is this ethical? What if we compared some of the most successful blogging sites to less successful ones in terms of these features, what do you think we would find?

    • cmullins1 October 13, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

      Actually I didn’t even think about the fact that bog companies would require you to register just so they can say they have more subscribers and then can increase their revenue, however I feel like now that might be that case. I do not think that is ethical at all. Blogging was created to be interactive, social medium of communicating, and I guess like everything else it has become commercial. However, I still think to leave a comment that people should be able to post without having to log in and create an entire account. I think this would lead to people commenting more often, because the casual user who wants to leave a comment is not going to if they realize they have to create an entire account. MAKE IT EASIER blog sites!

  2. Diego Palacios October 11, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Well well well…although I understand your point of view about the logistics of posting comments, my issue lies more in what to say in my comments. I procrastinate quite a lot because I feel very self conscious about posting comments. One part of me thinks that I should treat it as an assignment and just do it, while other part forces me to have something valuable to say that should be interesting enough to be an original post. Does anybody have problems with that? Maybe I should follow your path and create an original post about my posting problem situation.

    • Alyssa Morelli November 10, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

      I have some problems with that also Diego. It is also one of the reasons that while I have a Twitter, I am not an avid tweeter, only a follower. It is also why if it were not for this class I would not be blogging at all. I usually just do not feel that I have a whole lot of original personal content to say online that is worth people reading. I am not a celebrity and I do not think anyone cares what I am eating today or where I am going or how I feel in general right now about my day. We will just have to work on being more creative and find topics that we are passionate about!

      • Melanie November 22, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

        Right behind ya, Alyssa! I’m extremely reluctant to comment on blogs that aren’t for this class because let’s be honest … I’m nobody! Not trying to start a pity party or anything! But seriously. In the world of PR, Social Media, etc. and basically in the WORLD in general, I have zero credibility and there’s no one who actually cares what I think or have to say! I think the next time this class is held, students should not be required to actually POST the comments. Just include a URL to a blog and a hypothetical response. I would hate to tarnish my social media reputation or piss off a PR practitioner before I even get out into the workforce just because I was required to post an opinion for a class.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Now THIS is a Rant Worth Listening To!!!! | Diesel On Life - October 8, 2011

    […] Posting Comment Rant (colleenmullinscpr590.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

